Light Cajun Dinner

The new area I live in is still a maze for my island-grown eyes. To save myself some confusion, I went to the nearby Wal-Mart thinking it had to be similar to the one by my previous house, or at least, I would be able to navigate around the store easily–that is one good thing about chain stores, I have to admit. I was hoping to find a Boneless Skinless Turkey Roast to pop in the Crock-Pot for dinner one night. I did find what I was looking for, but also, a new “Cajun” flavored roast. This gave me ideas. I started thinking about Red Beans and Rice, Gumbo, Jambalaya, etc., so I pulled out my phone and Googled “Red Beans and Rice” to see how extensive the recipe was. Looking at the list, I realized I only needed to buy two ingredients, and most of the others I had recently used for other recipes and so would have a perfect way to use those instead of having them go to waste.

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-red-beans-rice-1

Red Beans and Rice Shrimp Po'
Red Beans and Rice
Shrimp Po’ Boy

I substituted Sweet Italian Turkey sausage which I pinched out of the casings into the Crock-Pot in little meatball-esque rounds, since I was doing all of my shopping that day at a Wal-Mart Supercenter. I did find Chicken Andouille sausage later online was sold at my local Nugget and Raley’s.

I used this seasoning recipe cutting all the measurements in have to make sure I had enough of each to complete the entire mixture. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/emerils-essence-creole-seasoning-recipe2.html

Everything turned out great and was finished as leftovers within a day or two. The Red Beans recipe had a similar flavor to chili, so it could definitely be paired with corn bread, rice, or your favorite chili accompaniment.

Leave a Reply

