Mix-and-Freeze Lemon Ice Cream

Lemon Cookies, Lemon Cheesecake, Lemon Loaf…irresistible! Unfortunately, I cannot eat them anymore. Lemon Ice Cream, or at least this recipe, I can eat because I know exactly what is in it. I found it online as I have with many of my experiments, adjusted it, and now it is part of my collection. Here’s the original recipe: http://m.sunkist.com/recipes/lemon-ice-cream_33.aspx

Easy Lemon Ice Cream
Easy Lemon Ice Cream

The recipe calls for one cup of sugar per two cups of whipping cream. That is a lot of sugar. In an effort to minimize the “refined sugar” without sacrificing the taste, I tried ½ cup of granulated sugar and ½ cup of Truvia thinking the sugar substitute was a one-one alternative. The result was very sweet…and gritty. This suggests to me that the mix is supersaturated, all of the sugar never completely dissolves whether you whisk it longer or not; either way, I have no doubt that next time ½ cup of sugar will be just right. *I made this for my husband who is also a lemon fanatic; if I have any, it has to be with a side of Lactaid!

Leave a Reply

