Meatball Stew

IMG_7430My dad would make beef stew and rice sometimes when my mom was gone on vacation. She would take a month off in the summer to see her family overseas. There were a few other recipes he was good at; otherwise, we would go to one of the local diners. This was an attempt to replicate a childhood favorite. The beef stew I remember came in a can and the beef was meatballs.

I’ve been very disappointed so far with the quality of store-bought meatballs, so I make my own. I tried ground beef with this recipe in an attempt to keep it as close to what I remember beef stew being, but I use ground beef so rarely now that I may have developed a dis-taste for it. I strongly recommend you to use ground turkey with these seasonings for meatballs.

IMG_7408I always try to use what I have making substitutions when I can to save a trip to the grocery store especially since there are foods that we just don’t eat that you always find in recipes. For example, onions. I don’t like onions. Nobody in my family loves onions and nobody complains about me substituting shallots for onions, so I always do. There’s one exception, but even then, I’ll chop onions into big wedges and fish them out of the finished product.

Here, I eyeballed the seasoning for the 1 1/4 lb or ground beef as I usually do for the ground turkey, but I’ll try to list estimates and you can play with them to your taste.

 

For the meatballs:

½ cup Panko bread crumbs

1 ½ tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce

1 ½ tablespoons dried basil

1 ½ tablespoons dried oregano

2 tablespoons garlic powder

2 tablespoons onion powder

½ tablespoon each of salt and pepper

For the stew:

3 tablespoons of flour

1 cup chicken broth

2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

2 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped

2 shallots, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can (15 oz) tomato sauce

…and the meatballs

Brown the meatballs and then…Everybody in the pot!

Depending on the coarseness of your chopped veggies, you can cook this until just tender while finishing the meat in 2-4 hours. Bigger veggies will need more time to soften. You’re usually safe with the Crock-Pot on High for 4 hours in most cases. Try it and tell me what adjustments you made!

*This meatball recipe (using ground turkey) is a favorite for my kids in pasta and Asian noodle dishes!

I may have referenced this recipe. http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/beef-stew-in-the-crock-pot-51262880

 

 

One thought on “Meatball Stew”

Leave a Reply

