Turkey Meatloaf

IMG_8240
Photo by M. Sandoval

Nostalgic. Comfort food. Kid food? American, for sure. My mom made this on occasion when I was growing up which, now that I think back, was nice considering she was born and raised in the Southeast Asia. How nice of her to incorporate American traditions into our upbringing! Don’t you just love your mom?!

My dad showed me how to make my own eggs when I was ten years old. Since then, I’ve been experimenting with cooking. In high school, I made things like chocolate truffles and croissants from scratch and brought them to share (test out?) on my French class classmates. That is about the time I quit drinking soda and eating red meat experimenting with lean meat (mostly chicken, but also some seafood) and low-fat options for recipes.

This meatloaf is different every time I make it since I don’t measure anything for it, but it always has ground turkey to start. As usual, I use what I have and I usually have garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper, eggs, mustard, and some sort of crackers in the pantry. I also add ketchup and Worcestershire Sauce when I remember/have it.

IMG_8231
Ground turkey, a package of crackers–crumbled, one egg…
IMG_8232
Add ketchup, mustard, Worcestershire Sauce, salt and pepper. Mix together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used dried, chopped onions this time, and my son had a fit (I can’t wait until his palate matures).

IMG_8234
Shape and place in baking pan coated with cooking spray.
Drizzled with ketchup...
Drizzle with ketchup, then bake at 350°F for 55 minutes…
Let cool for 5 minutes before slicing.
Let cool for 5 minutes before slicing.

Approximate measurements for ingredients:

1 1/4  lb ground turkey

1 sleeve of Ritz crackers

1 egg

1/4 cup of water

1 Tablespoon of mustard

1/4 cup of ketchup, plus drizzle

2 Tablespoons of Worcestershire Sauce

½ teaspoon each of onion powder and garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper

Try this recipe and let me know how it goes!

I used this for seasoning ideas. http://www.food.com/recipe/turkey-meatloaf-54752

One thought on “Turkey Meatloaf”

Leave a Reply

