Salmon Chowder

This is actually a late post, but I promise it’s worth it! If you’ve been following my posts, you know that I hate onions. This has become an obsession; I avoid onions but on here, I can post recipes I’ve tried with alternatives to onions. This may be one of my all-time favorites. It’s definitely my new favorite way to cook (and eat) salmon!

This is also my favorite chowder. I have tried Clam Chowder in Hawai’i, Okinawa, Nevada, and California and have always eaten around the meat because I just can’t get over the feel of clams between my teeth! The Fishetarian in Bodega Bay, California was the best place for “clam chowder” I’ve tried so far, but I had to eat around the long stringy pieces of onions! The clam pieces were very tender and must have been chopped coarsely because I couldn’t tell them apart from the mushrooms. Thumbs up!

Avoiding clams and possible sand-in-your-teeth completely by using salmon instead, I say.

salmon-chowder
Upper left photo by M. Sandoval

Doesn’t that look fantastic? It really is! I would suggest chopping the potatoes a little smaller, though (at least ½ inch cubes), since the salmon cooks quickly. Also, I used Better Than Bouillon as the chicken broth, so you see my spoonful (in the upper right photo) which needs to be added with one cup of water, and that’s why the pot looks soupy.

Red potatoes with the skin on gives it a mealy feel, and the skin adds plenty of nutrition. Just be sure to scrub them sufficiently with a veggie or kitchen brush (avoid more grit in your teeth here) before they go into the pot.

I used baby red potatoes and wanted to keep them chunky as pretty as they were, so I had to let them cook almost completely before adding the salmon. When it’s time to add the salmon, stir the potatoes around so they cook evenly and place the salmon on top of everything. The salmon will steam and stay whole for plating. I think this also keeps the salmon tender instead of becoming rubbery from being overcooked in the soup.

I was amazed how well this came out considering how simple it was. I tend to wing it (with my “educated guess”) through recipes, although I’m not exactly new at cooking. I am adjusting recipes if not creating them. Just know when I post these, I’m telling you mistakes I made for you to avoid, and what steps are necessary to get the intended result.

Here’s how to make it happen:

Two salmon fillets

One can creamed corn

One large shallot, chopped

8 oz red potatoes, chopped

Cup chicken broth

½ t each salt and pepper and lemon zest to add with…

8 oz cream cheese

Cook in crock pot: veggies, broth, seasoning on High for 2 hours.

Add salmon, lemon zest, and cream cheese.

Cook on Low for an hour.

Sprinkle servings with dried or fresh dill weed.

Salmon Chowder, Crock-Pot Slow Cooker Recipes (binder), p. 307. Publications International, Ltd. Lincolnwood, 2013.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

