Fruit Compote

Great for pancakes, great for cheesecake! This is so simple if you have the time. Three ingredients and 20 minutes later gives you a great topping for breakfast or dessert that stores well sealed for several days in the refrigerator. You could also serve it warm with crumbled graham crackers and whipped cream.


Blueberry is my favorite, but I prefer strawberry on my waffles with some whipped cream. The real stuff, nothing homogenized. I bought this little cheesecake from the store, I think because I had a coupon. It was plain, so I thought about what I was going to serve it with not have planned previously to get it. Blueberry Cheesecake came to mind which was my favorite ice cream in high school (I don’t remember having anything before that besides chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla; I also like Pralines and Creme, then I liked Mint Chocolate Chip, now I like Vanilla Bean with yellow cake and caramel—bad, I know!).



Start with fresh berries. Here’s some strawberries…chop them up into a pan (this was about three cups), a heaping 1/4 cup of sugar, and a teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Strawberries are full of water which they will release, enough to make a syrup.

Mix together on medium-high and cook until reduced, about 30 minutes. Let cool. Strain liquid into clean container and add sliced, fresh strawberries, if preferred.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ellie-krieger/blueberry-compote-recipe.html

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/43914/supreme-strawberry-topping/

2 thoughts on “Fruit Compote”

Leave a Reply

