Beef Stew

img_9352

If you prefer a more traditional beef stew over the previously posted meatball stew, then this is one way to do it.

img_9344

The fresher your food, the better!

img_9347

While chopping these potatoes, I was trying to remember how many times in my life I’ve cut myself while cooking. I could probably count on my fingers; but then again, I’m careful (I would never complete a meal on the Iron Chef)!

The beast. This may be the single food that can instantly give me a migraine, and I’ve never liked taste. In addition to wetting the knife and rinsing the onion after peeling off the paper, I actually held my breath. Wetting the knife is sufficient enough for me to chop shallots to avoid the always uncomfortable fumes of the onion causing my eyes to burn and water, but this beast requires extra measures. Also since I can’t palate the raw, bitter flavor or unique crunch of onions between my teeth, I find that chopping it into quarters and removing the centers makes it very easy to not only find in the pot, but remove and discard from the recipe before serving. Why use it at all? Good question. There are few recipes, in my opinion, that require onion to maintain the integrity of the dish. Keeping to traditional cuisine, the Holy Trinity of French cooking or mirepoix requires carrots, celery, and onion. It’s always a good start when trying a new recipe or attempting to hack an old one, as I did here.

Salt and pepper the meat. Coat it with flour. Add the water and bouillon cube.

1 1/4 pounds stew meat

2 pounds red potatoes, chopped

4 carrots, chopped 

6 stalks of celery, chopped

One yellow onion, chopped into quarters, center removed 

One cup water 

One low-sodium beef bouillon cube

6 ½ oz tomato purée (I made enchilada sauce at the same time and needed tomato sauce but only had a can of chopped tomatoes which I blended to make purée, so 8 ounces went into the enchilada sauce and the rest into the beef stew an hour before it was done)

1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoons flour 

2 tablespoons garlic powder

On teaspoon of dried basil

½ teaspoon dried oregano

Salt and pepper

img_9348

The onions should go where you can find them easily if you intend to remove them at the end like I do. Make sure to avoid breaking them up when you stir the pot halfway through (if you’re home); otherwise, I would make sure to put the carrots on the bottom of the pot (or whatever veggie you want to make sure becomes tender by the time it’s done). Chopping the potatoes and carrots into smaller pieces will also ensure everything cooks evenly.

img_9349

Salt and pepper the veggies.

img_9350

Add garlic powder, dried basil, and dried oregano. Wait until an hour before it’s done to add the tomato puree. Definitely stir it then.

Everyone in the covered Crock-Pot on Low for 5 ½ hours. Great with rice or sourdough (maybe a sourdough bread bowl?). Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

