Saffron Rice

img_9525

I can’t believe how easy this was! I used my rice cooker. Replacing the water to cook the rice with more flavorful chicken bouillon to pair with Chicken Korma from the slow-cooker, this felt like an accomplishment I’ve been waiting for for a very long time. Saffron being one of the culinary world’s most expensive ingredients. Along with fresh-made hummus, this meal was something I am very proud to add to my cooking portfolio.

img_9523

Rice in the rice cooker along with chicken bouillon, chopped shallots, dried chopped onion (which I would leave out next time and just use more shallots, personal taste), and saffron. I made a pot-full.

3 cups of dry rice, rinsed

4 cups of chicken bouillon

1 shallots, chopped

3 tablespoons of dried, chopped onions (personally, I would replace this with another shallot since I don’t like the crunch of onions!)

1/4 teaspoon of crushed saffron or 1 pinch for each cup of rice

Cook in rice cooker or as you would cook rice on stove-top.

img_9522

I found this dried saffron at Costco, of all places. Not the same as the high-end restaurants would use, but a great introduction to this fine ingredient for me.

Leave a Reply

