Lemon Chicken Piccata

I love finding a variety of recipes with the same main ingredients. It just takes a simple change in seasoning to make a recipe different, and seasonings keep well throughout the year if stored properly, so if you cook as much as I do, it’s worth having an assortment of dried herbs and spices in your kitchen. I also have a small garden of our most used herbs growing fresh in the backyard. The pint of cream I bought for this recipe, I split to also use for the Zuppa Toscana so as not to waste the cream which is not a common item in my kitchen. So, on with the show…

There’s an Italian grill chain restaurant that makes a piccata which is actually my favorite dish to order making this recipe that much more satisfying to be able to cook at home. I absolutely love cooking and love knowing exactly what is in my food.

I think I want to make double the recipe next time! There just wasn’t enough leftovers.

Here’s the sauce with all the yummy bits from browning the chicken. Add heavy cream.

img_9605

Add capers and lemon juice. *I’ve made this over and over, and the milk can curdle easily, so adding before serving tastes just as good as the recipe calls for it and saves you from that. Unless you’re a pro at cooking with milk and cream, I would recommend it at the end which also gives you that fresh taste.

The chicken breaded and browned a nice golden brown. Remove from pan to finish the sauce. It has a nice crust of parmesan and flour with salt and pepper.

I actually cheated and cooked frozen chicken in the crockpot for four hours on High. It always comes out perfectly cooked and tender that way. Cold from refrigerating it the night before, I then breaded it and browned it on the skillet with olive oil. I think there’s less chance of it drying out if you start with cold chicken since the breading doesn’t take long to brown. It came out perfectly delicious.

Creamy Lemon Parmesan Chicken (Piccata)

Leave a Reply

