Chicken Tamales with Chili Verde

Some people might be offended by this. They’ll say I didn’t do it right, it’s supposed to take all day, I didn’t use the right ingredients, I’m not from Mexico…

In that case, should I change the name? How about masa rolls? Whatever you want to call them, they’re delicious! So whoever started this, thank you!

This may be my third attempt. The first attempt, I found, had tomatillos skins even after a run through with the immersion blender. So I decided to roast them first and peel the skins off. Along with some garlic in the broiler for about 7 minutes, rotating the pan halfway so everything got a fair chance with the flame.

We found some organic masa harina at Sprouts Farmers Market with a no lard recipe on the back.

Here’s what I ended up actually using:

4 c masa harina

2 t sea salt

1 T cumin

1 T chili powder

½ T garlic powder

 ½ T oregano

1 1/3 c light olive oil

2 c water, plus 2 t Better Than Bouillion Chicken Flavor

The first batch I made with organic extra virgin olive oil and could taste the oil in some bites, so this time, used light olive oil. This seemed to come out perfectly; flavorful but not overpowering.

Everything in the mixer. The yellow goo in Better Than Boullion Chicken Flavor which I almost forgot.

For the chili verde:

1 lb of tomatillos (size varies, so please weigh them)

6 cloves of garlic

1 shallot, sliced

14 oz water, plus 2 t Better Than Bouillon

1 can (16 oz) of Great Northern Beans

1 can (4 oz) green chilis (I took two out of a large can of whole ones, but you can use a can of chopped just the same)

1 t cumin

Peeled tomatillos and garlic in the food processor.

Add the rest of the ingredients. Blend until smooth.

Or pulse first…

Chicken was 1 lb ( 2 breasts) cooked in the Crock-Pot on High for 3 hours with salt and pepper and the shredded. The first time I tried to make tamales was with a pork loin, same cooking instructions, both with approximately 1 teaspoon each of salt and pepper. I used the Enchilada Sauce from a previous posting for each and both worked well (chicken with red sauce/enchilada sauce and pork with green sauce/chili verde).

Tamales in the pot to steam. This is a large stock pot with a small stainless steel colander inside. There’s just enough water to touch the bottom of the colander. I checked on it occasionally to add water, but didn’t end up needed to add any. Bring the water to a boil and reduce heat to simmer. Allow tamales to steam for 45-90 minutes. Longer is okay as long as you check on them to make sure anything touching the pan is not burning.

The corn husks were soaked in warm water while everything else was prepared. We like fat tamales, so I used a spatula to spread about a quarter inch of the masa mix across the wide half of the smooth side of the corn husk and then roll them up and fold over the empty ends.

There are many videos online on how to make tamales, some using a special rolling technique, some using a strip of the corn husk to tie up the tamales, but I didn’t stress about any of that since none of the information was consistent. I gave it a try to see what would work and what would need special attention, and really, the flavor, shape, texture was all good just like you would find in a restaurant, but personalized. No excess onions, but our favorite green chilis and shallots and chicken breast or pork loin.

Here was the final product sans a couple bites! Couldn’t wait to eat it! With a little spanish rice and beans on the side. I’m addicted.

Leave a comment